Why Telangana

History Of Telangana

Telangana is the 29th state in India which is formed in June 2014. It just turned three on the 2nd of June 2017 and is the youngest state in the Union of India. The struggle for the separate Telangana State instigated in the year 1955 but was overlooked. On November 1st 1956, Telangana was merged with former Andhra State to form Andhra Pradesh. Then, in 1969 the State witnessed a violent agitation for 'separate Telangana' although the result was not fruitful.

But the seeds sown in 1955 were materialized only when our present Chief Minister of Telangana Shri. Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao's initiated fast for separate state on 29th November 2009. Then the Union government had announced the formation of separate Telangana State on December 9, 2009, finally achieving the separate statehood on 2nd June 2014.

Fifty eight years after it was first merged with Andhra, Telangana finally becomes the 29th state in the Republic of India. The formation of Telangana State is a story worth remembering of a fight for the recognition of a people’s identity. At present, the strength of Telangana doesn't reside either the enigmatic political leaders or the pioneer electoral; but it solely belongs to the people of Telangana who resided constant with the idea of an independent Telangana State within the republic.

About The State

Telangana has an area of 112,077 square kilometers. The major cities include Hyderabad, Warangal, Khammam, Nizamabad, Mahabubnagar and Karimnagar. The state of Telangana is boarded by Andhra Pradesh to the south and east, Maharashtra state to the north and north-west, Karnataka state to the west and Chhattisgarh state to the north-east. Telangana is now the twelth largest and the twelth most populated state in India.